Bulgaria is situated on the Balkan Peninsula in the South-East part of Europe.

Area: 110,993.6 km2.

Population: 7.5 million

Borders: To the north Bulgaria borders Romania. To the south – Greece and Turkey. To the west – Serbia and Macedonia. To the east – the Black Sea (with about 380 km. coastline)

Capital City: Sofia (population: 1,122,302)

The capital city Sofia is situated in the Western part of the country, at the foot of the Vitosha mountain, the plain is 550m. above sea level.

Major cities: Varna, Plovdiv, Ruse, Burgas, Stara Zagora, Veliko Tarnovo, Pleven, Blagoevgrad

Official language: Bulgarian

Alphabet: Cyrillic

Religion: East Orthodox Christians (85 %), Muslims (13%), Catholics (1%);

Political system: Parliamentary Republic

National currency: Lev (BGN) /1 Euro = 1.95 BGN/

Climate: Bulgaria is at the border line between the temperate and Mediterranean climatic areas. The climate is temperate continental in its northern part, while the Mediterranean climatic influence is strongly felt in its southern part

The average elevation throughout the country is 470 m. above sea level.

The highest peak is Musala in Rila Mountain – 2,925 m.

Official holidays: March 3rd – National Holiday; May 1st – Labour Day; May 6th – Saint George’s Day; May 24th – Cyrillic alphabet Day; September 22d – Independence Day; December 24th ,25th – Christmas

Measures and scales: the metric system

Electricity: 220V, 50 Hz

Time zone: GMT +2

Bulgaria is a member of the European Union /from 2007/, NATO, and the Council of Europe